Technical Advisory Group

The technical advisory group plays a key role in shaping the Fleming Fund and provides technical advice to support specific strategic and programmatic decisions. It is made up of 10 experts in the field of antimicrobial resistance (AMR) from a One Health context.

Chair of the Technical Advisory Group. Director of the interdisciplinary Antimicrobial Resistance Centre at London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, where she is head of the Anthropology of Antimicrobial Resistance research group.

Dr Evelyn Wesangula

Deputy Chair of the Technical Advisory Group. Pharmacist heading the Patient Safety Unit at the Ministry of Health in Kenya. She is the National Focal Point on AMR, supporting the implementation of infection prevention and control interventions, surveillance activities, and antibiotic stewardship and awareness programs.

Dr Didem Torumkuney

Scientific Director for infectious diseases at GSK. Completed her PhD at the Medical Faculty in Istanbul in collaboration with Public Health England on the effect of environmental factors on AMR.

Member of the scientific panel of the Netherlands Veterinary Medicines Institute and is director of the WHO Collaborating Center for Campylobacter and of the OIE-reference laboratory for Campylobacteriosis.

Infectious disease epidemiologist, an Alborada Professor of Equine and Farm Animal Medicine and Head of University of Cambridge Vet School. Co-chairs the University of Cambridge Infectious Diseases Interdisciplinary Research Centre and conducts multidisciplinary research on infectious diseases.

McKinlay Professor of Global Health and Co-Director, Otago Global Health Institute, University of Otago, Dunedin. Also Adjunct Professor of Medicine, Pathology, and Global Health at Duke University and a Guest Researcher with the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Professor Franco Sassi

Professor of International Health Policy and Economics and Director of the Centre for Health Economics and Policy Innovation at Imperial College London. Franco's research focuses on economic analysis of health services, the economics of chronic disease prevention and measuring inequalities in access to healthcare.

Dr Raheelah Ahmad

Health Management Programme Lead within the faculty of Medicine at Imperial College, London. Her work focuses on the following areas: Organisational Change, Health Economics, Sustainability and Evaluation at the National Institute for Health Research (NIHR), Health Protection Research Unit for Healthcare Associated Infections and AMR.

Professor Aaron Oladipo Aboderin

Professor of Clinical Microbiology, Deputy Provost, College of Health Sciences and consultant Clinical Microbiologist at the Obafemi Awolowo University Teaching Hospitals, Ile-Ife, Nigeria. His research focuses on epidemiology of enteric infections and AMR.

Dr Abhilasha Karkey

Medical microbiologist involved in clinical research at Oxford University Clinical Research Unit Nepal, Patan Hospital. Abhilasha’s research focuses on enteric fever and AMR. She is both an OAK Scientific Leadership and an Alan J. Magill Fellow. Her current work focuses on hospital acquired infections and development of AMR in the community, particularly among Gram-negative pathogens, especially Klebsiella pneumoniae and Enterobacter spp.